holy hormones

Part 1

stick and stones
may break my bones
but words
will never hurt me

Yeah, right. Even in dreams words hurt me, make me cry even. A few nights ago I woke up sobbing from 2 separate dreams in which someone close to me was being mean to me- saying hurtful things. The words in the dream hurt so much that I continued crying after I awoke. Then I thought about the dreams all day yesterday too. I have been waking up  crying a lot lately, it seems. It’s disconcerting, to say the least!

Part 2

Ever seen the movie “Turner & Hooch”?


source

Here’s the quick synopsis:
Turner is a cop/investigator in a small town who is very soon moving to the big city to become a “real” detective. Hooch is a big intimidating dog that belongs to an old man in the small town who is killed by some creepy dudes. Turner begins the investigation of the murder, and ends up with the dog who was the only “witness” of the murder. They have a hard time getting accustomed to each other but become good friends. hooch does end up identifying the bad guy. During the raid on the rest of the creepy dudes, Hooch gets shot but still saves Turner’s life. Turner rushes the wounded Hooch to his new girlfriend/ town vet’s house (very convenient, eh?)

That’s where I lost it. I started crying and asked Mike over and over “is he gonna die? just tell me, is he gonna die?” I was so sad. I didn’t expect this at all. Soon I was bawling my eyes out and I couldn’t breath. I was inconsolable. Mike had to rewind through the sad part to the end where the vet’s collie has puppies and one is just like Hooch. I laughed at how silly I was for crying so much, but I couldn’t shake how sad I still felt. I mean, COME ON, it’s a movie! I asked Mike if he could imagine me seeing that in a theater, sobbing out loud and crying “is he gonna die, is he, IS HE?” (yeah, that has actually happened before!) We had a good laugh about that!

So, I have concluded that the only explanation for all this crying is hormones. Sometimes being a woman is not only annoying, but a little embarrassing too.

Have a happy, hormone free Wednesday all you ladies out there!

Leave a Reply

