the little book club that could.

About a month ago {has it been longer than that already?} I had big plans for a book club. I posted about my grand plan on facebook and had some very enthusiastic responses almost immediately. I was very excited. I asked Christina to choose our first book (Water for Elephants) and we were off…or so I thought! Then it all just sort of petered out.

I sent out more messages, asking if more friends & family were interested in  joining…I got nothin’. ho-hum. BUT- I am determined to make this book club AWESOME, even if I have to do it alone! I know there are smart, interesting people out there just dying to discuss their recent reads with others…so where are all of you? {call me, write me…please!}

Last I checked it was down to 6 of us, and only 4 who live in Bloomington (not a problem at all, but I am hoping for regular meetings, so more locals are needed)! Can’t our little book club do better than this??? “What book club, Jessica” might be the question on your tongue…I know, I have not been holding up my end of the deal. SO I am re-committing to my role as “Awesome Book Club Manager” here and now. I vow to stay on top of this group, find a few new “Awesome Readers”, check in on reading progress and organize meetings (but all in a really fun way, I promise)! So…wanna join? You know you want to…..

I am setting  our Official First Meeting for Wednesday, July 20th at 7pm at my house. If you are interested in being AWESOME but cannot make it, please tell me 3 dates/times that would work better for you. I am happy to oblige a better date/time since I just pulled that date out of my hat! The deadline for suggesting new meeting times will be the beginning of next week, Monday, July 11. I will announce the Official Official First Meeting next Monday. Stay tuned.

Let’s get this show on the road! (oh, and boys are welcome to join too, this doesn’t have to be a ladies-only club, although it could be…whatever, I just want to read with friends!)

Leave a Reply

