hair.

i’m an easy-going kind of girl. especially when it comes to my hair. some might say i have perfect hair: i never have bed head, i don’t actually have to brush/comb my hair (the knots just fall out when it dries), i don’t use products or tools and it’s soft. i say all hair has it’s challenges: it gets way greasy when not washed, it’s thin, doesn’t hold curls or products, and is constantly in my face. (and i think bed head/crazy hair is really cute, so i’m bummed about that!) needless to say, i have had to figure out ways to make my hair work for me. when i’m sewing it has to be back- all back, out of my face. over the last few years i have learned that bobby pins are my best friend. i put them to good use and carry them with me in case of {hair} emergencies! i also like to wear scarves in my hair (i have a great collection of vintage silk scarves!)- i like the look and the addition of bright colors & patterns. i have compiled my 3 current favorite hair looks for you, in case you need some inspiration for your hair too! i’m pretty sure these looks will work for most hair types.

single twisty bun + scarf

i styled this straight out of the shower this morning- no combing necessary! i just pulled it back like a ponytail, did a quick twist and secured with ONE bobby pin. i actually didn’t intend for this to last long. i added the scarf to keep my bangs back and i think it helps keep the bun in place. even if you needed to add more pins, this look is so quick and easy! i love not using hair bands/ties because those do’s always seem to give me headaches. with bobby pins my hair never feels too heavy.

as for the scarf, i folded it into a long rectangle then put the wide middle part at the back of my head. i tied it in the front at my hair line then tucked the loose pieces in along the side of the scarf. you can add pins to secure, but i usually don’t need to do that.

twisty buns

starting with the front of your hair, twist the pieces together all the way to the back constantly tightening until it begins to curl into a bun. twist the hair all the way into a little bun then secure with as many bobby pins as necessary! this hair style keeps my hair out of my face while working and even feels a little fancy, even though it’s actually more of a messy casual look. it’s perfect for hot days too!

{you can also separate your hair into 3 or 4 sections depending on your length and thickness. twist each section and secure with pins, this makes a little row of twists that is really cute)

twisty braids

i love this do. it has become my go-to hair style lately!

here’s how you do it:

braid your hair into 2 side braids, secure with tiny hair bands (i use those teeny clear ones). pull your braids to the back of your head and tie in a
“knot”. push the ends of your braids behind the braided hair, out of sight, then secure the braids with bobby pins. I have only been pinning from the top, but realized i could use some pins underneath too, to hold up the hair at the base of my neck.

this look actually is a little nicer than the twisty buns. it’s cleaner, more polished. this style lasts all day long for me and is even easy to do in the middle of the day with only a couple bobby pins on hand.

i have gotten lots of hair inspiration from other blogs lately. some of the styles i love don’t work for me because my hair is SO stick-straight. others don’t work because although my hair is long-ish, it’s not quite long enough for all the fun styling!

I want to try this one next:

maiden braid

and she shows how to wear it up too:

so pretty! perfect for casual days lounging in the hammock, or dressy summer evenings!

what are your favorite hairstyles?

i would love to see pictures & links for more ideas!

One thought on “hair.

Leave a Reply

