gathering.

Bloomington is a great place to call home for many reasons. One of the best reasons is the community I have found here. Not only have I found brilliant  artists to connect with, but I can also call these women and men my friends! It’s often difficult to gather friends & artists due to everyone’s demanding schedules. The perfect solution: a gathering for the creative community that is comfortable and relaxed while also allowing them to show & sell their work. This weekend was the first of a series of  these gatherings or boutique-type shows organized by Talia (and hosted today by Lori).

This was a low-key event featuring 7 local artists, yummy local cupcakes (by the lucky cupcake), mimosas, and plenty of chatting! It was a lovely afternoon for mingling with friends and supporting their work. I’m  looking forward to the next event, planned for May 4th at The Green Nursery!

And now for a barrage of photos from the event:

Deesum Designs

Molly makes pretty little state & country pendants as well as stunning statement necklaces made from antler & stones. my favorite piece is the antler necklace…I brought one home with me (let’s call it an early Valentines Day gift to myself!)

IMG_3779

IMG_3786

IMG_3823IMG_3785

Sabun by Soapy Soap Company

Run by the super-duo Mohammed & Anthony, Sabun Soaps are just divine! They come in some of  my personal favorite combos too: rosemary-mint & lavender-tea tree oil!  These soaps are all natural and made right here in Bloomington! You’ll be seeing these guys around quite a bit now…they’re even in Whole Foods!

IMG_3778 IMG_3776

Conduit Press

…is no stranger to this blog! You’ve heard me sing Talia’s praises time & time again. Her journals & book safes just can’t be beat!

IMG_3806 IMG_3798

JO Designs

Jaime has been a maker of pretty paper journals & custom scrapbooks for some time now, but she has recently designed a line of crocheted jewelry that is pretty, delicate and versatile. I took home a bracelet that’s going to be a staple in my wardrobe for the rest of the winter!

IMG_3795 IMG_3794

Charm HouseLori was our gracious host for the event as well as being the maker of some really fun jewelry and wine charms. If you’re in need of a unique hostess gift- her wine charms are perfect! I’m the girl who constantly loses her drink at gatherings…luckily we all had Lori’s wine charms on our mimosa glasses, so I always knew which randomly placed glass belonged to me!

IMG_3820 IMG_3813 IMG_3792 IMG_3814

Vincent Dejardins: Illustrator

I’m a big fan of Vincent’s original illustrations, but today I couldn’t resist his vintage Valentines! They’re all so charming.  I love Vincent’s range of talent & content.

IMG_3809 IMG_3810

Lit Knits

Laura makes the softest, prettiest & warmest knitted cowls, beanies, headbands & fingerless gloves. She has unique (& enviable) personal style which shines through in her work. I also love her knit ties for the guys!

IMG_3804 IMG_3805

The Lucky Cupcake

You really can’t beat a good cupcake, can you?! Well, Felicia knows how to whip up some DARN good cupcakes! Thank goodness they were mini size, cause I had about 10. yum.

IMG_3817IMG_3818

I’ve said it once already, but I’m really looking forward to more of these gatherings. Oh, and did I mention there’s a blog you can follow too? It’s appropriately called the gathering.

Leave a Reply

